F.O. Alert!!! Larger Than Life Bag

5 07 2007

NOTE: This is a post full of largish pics so it may load slowly for those with dial-up.

She’s finally done!! And only a few days later than the goal I had set. She went with me to WalMart and to the fireworks show yesterday and served me well.

The handles are braided drapery tie-backs like several other people have used. The drawstring is lengths of the contrast colors used in the squares twisted into a tight cord and knotted on the ends. The border the cord is threaded through is simply one round of sc, then 1 round of 2dc cluster, ch 1, 2 dc cluster, ch 1. I finished it with one more round of sc and then my favorite edging stitch, which is ch 1, sl st, ch 1, sl st, repeating to the end of the round. This gives it a little bit of a zigzag effect similar to rickrack. I also used this stitch for all the seaming I did on the bag except for the seams joining the base to the side gussets.

I made several mods to the pattern when it comes to lining. I added a zipper and zipper placket with end opening for long needles, needle pocket with elastic, a large side pocket for magazines, patterns, & books, another large side pocket divided up with slots for double points, crochet hooks and other knitting accessories. I used 2 different fabrics for the inner and outer linings with a layer of heavy interfacing between them.

The modification to the side gussets went something like this: starting at the top of the side panel I crocheted *20 sc, 15 hdc, & 15 dc. Turn & ch 3. Work dc’s into dc’s, hdc’s into hdc’s and sc’s into sc’s. Turn & ch 1. Sc in every stitch, turn & ch 1. Sc in every stitch, turn & ch 1. Then repeat this sequence till the gusset is the width you want. ALSO: on the sc sections of the row, I alternated crocheting into the front loop only with crocheting into the back loop only to get the texture I wanted.

The modification for the base of the bag is simple; just rows of sc alternating between the main bag color and the contrast colors. I did find though that if you were using the contrast colors when the wrong side was facing you, then they would show up more prominently than the main color when it’s all seamed up.

Well that’s the end of my Larger Than Life Bag. Next up in my crochet queue is the Sunny Set from Crochet Today’s july/august issue and finishing a star ripple toddler afghan. I’ll post pictures of those soon!


Actions

Information

23 responses

5 07 2007
margene

Beautiful, beautiful work! You really made it into a fabulous bag you can use!

5 07 2007
Cheryl

That is lovely,you are very talented.

5 07 2007
Vera

Wow! Wow! Wow! The bag looks fantastic, and you done so many wonderful things to it.

Great job.

6 07 2007
Deneen

Fabulous! The handles are ingenious!

6 07 2007
Bryony

Gorgeous! You’ve really made it your own too 😀 Love everything about it, from the colours to the lining to the mods and handles. Just FAB.

6 07 2007
2noelle

Now, that bag is more beautiful than the original!

6 07 2007
Amanda

Wow, that came out fantastic! Very nice work. I like the pics of all the detailing.

6 07 2007
Jenny

Absolutely stunning! Beautiful work! Thanks so much for sharing!

6 07 2007
Shelly

Your bag is beautiful! Lovely!

6 07 2007
Kat

That looks GREAT!!! The lining and extra pockets are genius.

6 07 2007
john2truth

awesome thats like pakistani handi craft lovely good work if u want any help in pakistan i can i ,m living in pakistan ok have fun john

6 07 2007
kellie

Rebecca! That is so beautiful! I love the colours. You created something that will certainly serve you well. I love all the pictures.

6 07 2007
keri

That is beautiful, the colors you chose are gorgeous and the workmanship? Superb!

6 07 2007
Lis

This bag is gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous!

7 07 2007
Shauna

Hey Sis,

That big bag is absolutely gorgeous!!!!!! I want one!!!! What do I need to do or have to get one?? Let me know the instructions so I can start on one!!!! When I will finish I dont know….LOL but I know I want one! You are so very talented sis, God has blessed you!

Love your lil sis
Shauna

7 07 2007
Shauna

Hey Sis,

That big bag is absolutely gorgeous!!!!!! I want one!!!! What do I need to do or have to get one?? Let me know the instructions so I can start on one!!!! When I will finish I dont know….LOL but I know I want one! You are so very talented sis, God has blessed you!

Love your lil sis
Shauna

PS please delete the first comment as the URL attatched to my name was wrong!! Love ya!

7 07 2007
Christy

That turned out so pretty! So jealous!

8 07 2007
cristina

Good job rebecca.
that is realy a good ideia to have pockets for everything inside:)
Usualy everything is loose everywhere.

10 07 2007
Tiffany

How absolutely lovely!!! It’s just stunning! 🙂

13 07 2007
thornberry

Thanks so much for sharing your pictures and details on how you modified the bag – I have the squares all done, but wasn’t sure how to join them most effectively – your post is such a help! Your bag is perfect!

28 07 2007
Larger Than Life bag progress « thornberry

[…] my mother’s stash, so are a real mixture of whatever we had.  Luckily there is plenty of inspiration on the blogs – there is even  this and this crochet-along for the […]

3 08 2007
Betsy

I love it!!!!!!!!!!

12 09 2007
Yarn Thing

OMG, I love your BAG!!!

Marly

Leave a comment