Tap, tap…”Is this thing on?”

7 09 2007

Believe or not I haven’t died, moved out of the country, or been kidnapped.  I’ve just been very busy and mentally preoccupied.

Going from being a homeschooling household where pretty much anything goes and the schedule is all loosey-goosey to being a public school household with all the necessary structure that implies has thrown me for a loop.  Not that I’m complaining, I really like it and the order it gives to my day; it’s just that it’s taking awhile for our family to settle in and adjust to the fact that our schedule is not flexible anymore.  Set-in-stone bedtimes during the week are not a temporary situation.  The kids are loving their teachers and doing fine at keeping up with the class.

Tabitha may be starting speech therapy to help retrain her to pronunciate correctly now that her front teeth have come down fully.  She was without them for so long she developed some really bad habits that we have to tackle now.   She is so excited about finishing her 100 math facts in 5 minutes to get her name in the class hall of fame.

Teddy is a star pupil having received only excellent daily behavior reports since the first day.   He is reading way beyond his grade level and just soaking up every little piece of knowledge presented to him.

Trinity is loving spending time with me, getting to be the “special” helper and run errands all over town.  She is becoming an excellent baker and towel-folder!  She is very excited to be starting ballet & tap class this month as well.

I am slowly becoming accustomed to having a quieter house during the day, actually getting housework done without too much hassle and having a much-needed rhythm to my week.  The house looks better than it has in a long time and we know where things are!!  I’ve been working on organizing my stash, frogging old ufo’s, and getting ready for fall.

The mums have been planted, the wreath is on the door and I’m shopping for yummy scented candles.  I am sooooo ready for the cooler weather!  Bring on the wind, bring on the bonfires and s’mores.  Bring on the maple leaves swirling thru the air and on the lawn.  Bring on sweater weather and baskets and bushels of apples for pie.  Bring on the wool Baby!

Next: Project updates & spinning!

Actions

Information

11 responses

7 09 2007
Kat

Yay, I”m so glad to hear that school is going well!!

I know what you mean about the schedule being so totally different when kids are in school. It’s both wonderful to have them in school and somewhat heartbreaking. 😉

I agree, bring on fall! 🙂

7 09 2007
Tiffany

Nice to see you back!

Even having always done the public school system (well, this is the 3rd year), we never get adjusted completely for at least three weeks or more. Adjusting time schedules, homework schedules, mornings, etc. leaves me frazzled, but then I see the amazing work that they do at school and I realize that it’s all worth it. We need the structure, although I know we would do well at home.

7 09 2007
kellie

Hey Rebecca! Glad to here things are going well.

8 09 2007
tkmckiernan

Nice to see you back and glad things are going well!

8 09 2007
keri

That was me by the way, I guess I was logged into wordpress, weird!

8 09 2007
Shauna

Hey Big Sis,

Nice to hear from you in the blogging world! I missed your posts and was beginning to have withdrawls LOL!

Oh yeah what was this thing you called Fall??? I dont think I have heard of that kind of weather in a very long time….almost never….hehehe

Only 2 kinds of weather here, sun and rain! LOL

Well sis I am glad to here all is good on the home front! Hope it all continues well with the little ones earning such great stuff! Keep encouraging them!

Love Lil Sis

Shauna

8 09 2007
Katy

Good to hear from you! I was wondering about you.

I understand where you are coming from, I do better with some externally imposed structure too. It’s one of the reasons I decided not to homeschool.

It’s interesting because in some ways I am very disciplined and sometimes borderline OCD and in other ways, I can be quite loosy goosy. I guess we are all that way to a certain extent.

Looking forward to seeing what you’ve been working on!

11 09 2007
Amanda

Glad to hear an update from you! I didn’t realize you were sending the kiddos to public school this year. That must have been a hard decision!

18 09 2007
cristina

Nice to know that everything is well with you 😉

23 09 2007
Bryony

Hey you! You still there? What happened to the spinning ;D I know you are still busy picking out things to knit on Ravelry and looking at gorgeous yarns…

Show us your socks too!

xxx

24 09 2007
Rebecca

I’m so pleased to hear the transition from hs to public has worked for you and the kiddos!

You are planting mums? Mine are about to die as we have already dipped below freezing a few times up here in the mountains! In fact, the weather man is predicting snow on Tuesday — wanna trade living locations? Not really, I love living in the mtns.

Leave a Reply

