Socks & Swag!

12 07 2007

(peeking over the mountain of yarn) I’m still here, I promise I haven’t gone anywhere.  I’ve just been very busy with family stuff.  Hubby had a small 4-wheeler accident and I’ve been busy nursing him back to health, knitting, spinning and a little shopping.  He’s okay now by the way.  So…… you wanna see proof of my progress right?

Here is the first finished Nightshade boot sock:

Cool huh?  It striped up a little like Trekking.   Next up we have Sockapalooza 4 knitting.   After many, many starts and trips to the frog pond and with much frustration I decided to scrap my previous plans and start over for the 2nd time.  Now I’m in a much better place, my happy place, ahhhhhh.  I’m loving this pattern & yarn combo and it’s loving me right back.

Pattern: Marina Piccola by Kate Gilbert

Yarn: Dream in Color Smooshy Sockyarn purchased from The Loopy Ewe in the Blue Lagoon colorway.

Needles: 1.5’s for the first 2 rounds of the cuff, 0’s for the remainder of the cuff and 1.5’s for the rest of the sock.

Refreshing, isn’t it?  Makes me want to go swimming.  🙂

Now…. for the SWAG!!!!

First off I want to show you my new shoes.  I’ve been shopping around for some cute but comfortable shoes that would show off my handknit socks.  Hard to find when you don’t really want to shell out a hundred bucks?  Nope!  Believe it or not I found these babies for only $3.99 at our local Goodwill.

That’s what I call a sweet deal.  They’re Doc Martins and they fit like a dream.

Now for the fiber!  For the Tour de Fleece I got almost 8 oz of this wool from Deb of Dudleyspinner.com

I’m thinking some knock’em dead knee-highs for fall.  I also purchased 8 oz. of this super-yummy Targhee roving from Susan at The Spinning Bunny in the Blueberry Patch colorway.  Still debating over what it’s destiny is.

Next up come the yarns.  Remember the cabled vest I told you about?  Yeah well 16 balls of Elann’s Sierra Aran in Garnet showed up along with the pattern booklet.

Can you say De-lish-ious?

Then I got a larger than normal box from Sheri, containing my Loopy Groupie extras!!!   (A wonderful clear vinyl zippered Loopy tote and 2 balls of Regia Heather in a lovely tan.  There were also some Loopy Kisses but those are long gone now.)    😉

and my order of Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in Red Rover and Louet Gems Fingering weight in Pink Panther.  This is my first time to try either of these yarns.

Are you tired yet?  Hope not, there’s one more!

My very own, long-sought-after hank of Vesper’s Knit & Tonic.  Ahhhhhhhh……

A wonderful birthday and I still have some cash left.  Think I’m gonna take my hubby out on a date this weekend.  😉

Actions

Information

17 responses

12 07 2007
Vera

Beautiful socks and swag. What a steal on those shoes.

I’m a Loopy Groupie too.

12 07 2007
jessica

That sock is really pretty! the colouring is awesome! I really like that roving in the blueberry colourway, can’t wait to see what you make with it!

12 07 2007
Terri Lynn

Two words. I’m Jealous! The boot socks are great, the swap socks are looking beautiful, shoes are awesome, and the rest of your swag is super.

12 07 2007
Zuleika

You sure made a killing! lol I love all your yarn and the roving. Such beautiful colors! Your socks are great!

12 07 2007
Donna

Great shoes! What a find! I’m doing the Tour de Fleece too…your fiber looks luscious.

12 07 2007
becky c.

Pile of yarn indeed!! Can’t wait to see your blueberry roving spun up.

12 07 2007
Nancy Yandell

Looks like you got great stuff. Good job on the shoes. I love that sock pattern! Have fun.

12 07 2007
Amanda

WOW WOW WOW! I’m insanely jealous! Great loot… and happy birthday – you deserve every single goody you got.

12 07 2007
keri

Yum Yum Yum, what great loot!

12 07 2007
Shauna

Dear Big Sis,

I am sooooo very jealous!!! I am just kidding, I am very happy for you! I cant wait to see what all comes out of that yarn!

Your socks are beautiful! I so wish that I was a sock person! I have so got to learn how to knit!

Well only 18 more days till Hubby leaves!! Keep praying!

Love your lil sis

Shauna

13 07 2007
Sara

Those shoes are so cute. 🙂 Your socks are awesome too.

13 07 2007
Sara

p.s. I always knit socks with five dbl pointed needles, do you think the circular needle is better?

13 07 2007
Amanda

Happy belated B-day to you! You’re swag is an impressive haul – looks like a lot of fun! Your LTL bag turned out AWESOME, and it is a total inspiration. I am too new to crochet to incorporate all of your mods, but I think a couple of them will find their way into my finished bag. Many thanks!

14 07 2007
Seanna Lea

I’ll admit that I’m jealous of all the tasty yarn! I haven’t bought anything in forever!

15 07 2007
Summer of Socks 2007 » Blog Archive » SOS Blog Updates, Week 3

[…] Rebecca is done with one Nightshade boot sock and, after a number of false starts, has half of the leg done on her Sockapalooza 4 sock — a summer-appropriate pairing of Kate Gilbert’s Marina Piccolo pattern with Blue Lagoon-hued yarn. She also offers us a glimpse of socks-to-be towards the end of her post. […]

15 07 2007
Shelly

WOW! Enjoy all that fibery goodness!!! : )

22 07 2007
nichole

That purple sock yarn is absolutely to DYE for (coming from a purple freak)… 🙂 Found your blog thru Amanda…

Leave a Reply

