SOS Update & Sunday Spinning

25 06 2007

The first Nightshade sock for SOS is coming along wonderfully! I did a 2×2 rib for the leg, a garter stitch short row heel (which is my new fav!) and now I’m cruising down the foot.

So far they fit hubby like a glove so it’s full steam ahead on these!

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

I’ve finally pulled out some gorgeous silk I was gifted with by Jan back when I first got my wheel. I was too afraid to mess it up for a long time but my skills have improved and while it’s not the perfect 2ply laceweight I was hoping for, I’m really happy with it. I named it Safari for future reference.

I’ve also working on some coopworth and silk that I’m calling Morning Glories.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Spun Stitches KAL: I’m making slow progress on the blue merino-silk. I’m trying to be patient and spin a true laceweight with this so I can get the maximum yardage and because my grandmother deserves the best!! But I’m getting really antsy to start knitting the shawl! This project has convinced me I should start saving for a Woolee Winder.

Actions

Information

12 responses

25 06 2007
becky c.

Beautiful spinning! That silk is making me drool.

25 06 2007
Bryony

Lovely sock 😀 Coming along nicely! And GORGEOUS handspun, very very tasty. How is silk to spin?

25 06 2007
kellie

your hand spun is so pretty!

25 06 2007
keri

Oooh very pretty!

25 06 2007
Kat

Your spinning looks great! I haven’t tried silk yet, still working on improving my basic skills. 🙂 That sure is gorgeous!

The sock looks fabulous, too!

26 06 2007
Sara

Beautiful!! When is your birthday? I love that you spin, I want to learn that one day. 🙂

26 06 2007
cristina

lovely sock, i’ve tried to do that hell like that but in stockinete st.
The colors of your spin wool are very beautiful

27 06 2007
Amanda

Your spinning always looks beautiful!

28 06 2007
maddieknits

Mmm. Seeing what you spin makes me want to learn! It’s just gorgeous!!!

28 06 2007
Nancy Yandell

Hi Rebecca! This my first visit to your site. I also love to knit socks. Yours are looking great! My son wants me to knit him a pair, but I wasn’t sure about the size difference. Your spinning is beautiful also. I’ve not tried yet. Happy knitting form a sister at COTM.

28 06 2007
Deneen

The spinning does look awesome, I have a wheel, just haven’t played with it at all yet and yes, it came with a Woolee winder

29 06 2007
Shauna

Hey Sis,

The socks for your hubby are beautiful!!! I can see that God has given you a very awesome talent. I pray that your new adventure into business flourishes! I am so very proud of you and would be honored to own anything made by you!!

Love your little sis

Shauna 🙂

Leave a Reply

