What’s on the wheel?

21 03 2007

First, thanks for all the comments on my latest pair of completed socks!  I forgot to mention the particulars.  I used crystal palace bamboo dpn’s size 2 and the yarn was the sport weight superwash merino sold by Helloyarn as Fat Sock.  I wholeheartedly recommend her yarns!  (no profit made by this statement).  The pattern was based on one in Sensational Knitted Socks by Charlene Schurch.

Second, I’ve been commissioned to create an afghan for a friend of mine. She gave me a bag of yarn and told me she doesn’t want a ripple. Other than that I am free to choose! It will be a knit not crochet throw since my carpel tunnel is freakin out whenever I even come within 10 feet of my hooks. 😦 So I cast on yesterday and after spending 2 hours choosing stitch patterns and swatching I chose to go with my KnitPicks Options size 9 needles. I’m going to work it in several panels, creating a multicolor sampler style throw.

Yes, I’ve taken a pic but no you don’t get to see it yet! I want to get some of the 2nd panel worked up first then I’ll share.

However I won’t leave you pictureless. Here is the yummy Vineyard Merino I’m spinning up. It was a prize won at our local Handspinners Guild Rock Day festivities. The plan is to ply it up into a luscious fingering weight. My goal is to produce a strong yet soft 2 ply fingering weight to sport weight sock yarn. This is my first attempt. I will try to have this done and plied by the weekend.

Thanks for all the get well wishes!  My hip is feeling a little less stiff today and I took full advantage of it!  I joined the 100 miles in 100 days challenge!  I got up off my fanny and grabbed my kiddos and we headed out.  Slowly and carefully I logged .8 miles for my first foray.  It’s not much but as the inflammation around my hip goes down I’ll be able to pick up the pace a bit.

Change of Subject!…………………………..

I have put in my resignation at Michael’s.  My last class will be the 31st of this month.   Teaching there was taking too much time away from my family and the cost of gas was nullifying any profit I was making.   I will still teach but privately, not thru their stores. Anyone interested in classes please contact me thru my email or as a comment to the blog.

I really want to focus more on my volunteer work.  Speaking of, anyone who would like to contribute to teaching senior citizens and the elderly to knit and or crochet PLEASE CONTACT ME!  While we have enough yarn for the moment we are in desperate need of crochet hooks and knitting needles.  Any donations would be greatly appreciated!

Actions

Information

4 responses

22 03 2007
Two Witches

The colors of lovely! I can’t wait to see what you make with it. 🙂 Glad you hip is doing better. Lady Rose (more then 60 lbs lost, less then 90 to go!), founder of The Diet Pulpit, co-author of Incredible Shrinking Ladies blog

22 03 2007
Tiffany

Your handspun is looking gorgeous!

Good luck on the 100 miles challege. 🙂

22 03 2007
Amanda

Wow, I love what you have on your wheel right now… Can’t wait to see pictures of the finished product – YUM!

So glad you joined the 100 miles in 100 days challenge. Just be sure to email Jules so she can add you to the list. Then you can also post to the blog!

Thanks for the comments on my blog entries.

http://www.nhknittingmama.blogspot.com/

23 03 2007
Amanda

Hi, there!

Just wanted to let you know that I added you to my blogroll on my blog. I really love your blog!

Amanda

Leave a Reply

