Diligence: perservering application

12 03 2007

*This is not a knitting post*

Webster’s Dictionary defines diligence as : “persevering application; the attention and care legally expected or required of a person; characterized by steady, earnest, and energetic application and effort”.

To grow and improve in the area of diligence and consistency is something I’ve been needing to do for a long, long time. It has taken the arrival of my 30’s to wake me up and make me take responsibility for myself. I will not succeed without putting forth diligent, consistent and continued effort in all areas of my life.

In I Corinthians 13:11 the Bible says, “When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child; now that I have become a man, I am done with childish ways and have put them aside.” I made the decision last year on my 30th birthday that I was finally ready and determined to start acting and behaving as an adult, not a child. The same theme is reiterated in Hebrews 6:1, “Therefore let us go on and get past the elementary stage in the teachings and doctrine of Christ, advancing steadily toward the completeness and perfection that belong to spiritual maturity….”.

It’s time to move on with my life, leave my past in the past where it belongs and start the process of maturing. God has a future for me, a great one! But to get there, I need to develop the character and maturity needed to handle it.

Proverbs 10:4
“He becomes poor who works with a slack and idle hand, but the hand of the diligent makes rich.”

Proverbs 12:14 & 24
“From the fruit of his words a man shall be satisfied with good, and the work of a man’s hands shall come back to him (as a harvest).”

“The hand of the diligent will rule, but the slothful will be put to forced labor.”

Is there an area in your life where you need to develop your character? Are you willing to step up to the plate and take responsibility for your own maturity (or lack of it)?

Actions

Information

One response

22 03 2007
Lori

This is just the spiritual boost I needed today, thank you!

Leave a Reply

