I LOVE LACE!!

28 09 2006

Who knew? A whole bunch of knitters out there livin it up while creating beautiful works of art in filmy swathes of merino, silk, alpaca and cashmere, that’s who! I have officially become a lace knitter. Even though I didn’t really get to participate the way I wanted to, The Amazing Lace KAL this past summer convinced me to finally attempt it.

My Flower Basket Shawl is well on it’s way and has become my favorite project. I’m using KP Shadow in the Sunset colorway, doubled and size us 8 circs. To think I waited for 2 years to make this, the whole time drooling over everyones finished shawls! I thought it would be so hard, but it’s not. Oh well, lesson learned right?

Now that I’ve been bitten by the lace bug, I’ve joined the KAL for Icarus might for Swallowtail as well. I have KP Alpaca Cloud in Iris for Swallowtail and should get my Icarus yarn in the mail any day now. I ordered Merino Lace from handpaintedyarn.com in a gorgeous mix of greens with a little purple thrown in. I’m also trying to find a good pattern for a lace smoke ring. I found one really good one but it would cost me more in shipping than for the pattern!!! Grrrr…. Not likely! So I’ll keep searching, if anyone knows of a good pattern other than the one at the elegantknitter, please let me know!

On other knitting fronts:

I finished HelloYarn’s Cherry Garcia yesterday. I used LB Landscapes in River Crossing for my hubby. He loves it! It was a quick fun knit, lots of cables, and very unisex in nature. Would make great gifts for Christmas!!

I had started my son’s sweater using the Accordion pattern at knitty but didn’t like how thin it was knitting up. Since I couldn’t change the yarn I just decided to design my own pattern for it. This is my first time designing knitwear so I don’t expect it to be award-winning but it seems to be knitting up very well. I’m planning on knitting it up in several different sizes with some variations for my girls as well. Maybe just maybe I’ll make it available when I’m through. Start thinking about test-knitting in exchange for the pattern free!

I will make one promise. I’m getting new batteries for my camera this weekend to see if I can resurect it. Let’s all pray it’s possible cause a picture-less blog is pretty dry.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

